Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  2

Thread: Newbie here, need help with UV tube for a 60 gallon tank.

Post Thanks / Like
    Level
    Level completed: 45%, Points required for next Level: 27
    Overall activity: 99.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class

Smile Newbie here, need help with UV tube for a 60 gallon tank.

Hi all,

I am in the midst of waiting for my licence (VIC) in order to get my bearded dragon. We are currently trying to set up everything before our little guy's arrival.

Current Setup
    My husband and I found this vintage jewel display cabinet to refurbish it as a tank as we want a bigger enclosure.
    The measurement is 146.5(cm)L x 45(cm)W x 34(cm) H, roughly around 60 Gallon. Here is a photo of it 65230184_428872964367297_2403391745254490112_n.jpg
    For the basking spot we are using the 75W Philips Flood light from bunnings after some research. 64913029_678864445911607_1662528153190400000_n.jpg
    We bought the Nelson T5 28W Twin fluorescent tubes with fixture but I am not sure it has the correct UVB/UVA so I am a little hesitant to use it. 65196737_840313443021500_5917404446333075456_n.jpg

My questions
    1. I am wondering what's the best UV fluorescent tubes that is economic and does the job. I read somewhere about NEC T10 but I am not sure where I can get it in store in VIC or even online.
    2. As the tank is relatively low, 34cm in height, will my heat light be too low for the dragon? What's the rough ideal distant from light to basking rock?
    3. I live in Victoria and July is gonna be pretty cold, I do have heater at home. But do I need a ceramic lamp besides the heat bulb just in case?

Any help will be appreciated, many many thanks!

Post Thanks / Like
    Level
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 191
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Three FriendsVeteran5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Welcome to the Forum.